The United Kingdom is currently expected to withdraw from the European Union on the 30th March 2019.  This means that unless the withdrawal agreement establishes another date or the period is extended by the European Council in accordance with Article 50(3) of the Treaty on European Union, all Union primary and secondary law ceases to apply to the United Kingdom from 30 March 2019, 00:00h (CET). Pending further developments, the United Kingdom will then become a 'third country’ and classified as such for licensing purposes.

For import and export licences covered by Subsidiary Legislation 117.14 and 117.02, trade between Malta and the United Kingdom will be considered as being of a third country nature.