Boards and Committees
Navigate Up
Sign In

Boards and Committees

The Auctioneers Board 

The Auctioneers Board of Examiners is in place in order to assess applicants for a licence to act as auctioneers. Following interviews, the board is to inform the Department of Trade of its decision so that a licence is issued in case of approval or submit notice of refusal as the case may be.
Board Members
Mr Renato Vella                  Chairman
Dr Marion Camilleri            Member
Dr Noel Camilleri                Member
Mr Mark Xerri                     Secretary

Contact Details
Telephone Number: 21242270
The Copyright Board

The Copyright Board, established by virtue of Article 45 of the Copyright Act, is vested with the authority to approve requests for the establishment and operation of Collecting Societies in Malta, to approve the tariffs charged and any revisions thereof, as well as to revoke any authorisation to act as a Collecting Society.
Following the enactment of new legislation on Copyright (Act No. XIII of 2000) which came into force on the 14th August, 2000 - with the exception of Part XI on Collecting Societies which became effective as from the 1st January, 2001 - the Copyright Board was reconstituted in terms of Article 45 (2) and (3) of Part X on the Copyright Board to regulate the following:
1. Authorisation of Collecting Societies
2. Establishment and incorporation of Collecting Societies
3. ​Functions of Collecting Societies
4. Working Methods for Collecting Societies
Dr Ivan Sammut                     Chairman
Mr Howard Keith Debono​      Member
Mr Frederick Cutajar               Member
Mr Mark Borg                         Secretary
Contact Details

Email address:
Telephone Number​: 25690109

The Licencing Appeals Board
The Trade Licensing Appeals Board was set up  to hear appeals from decisions by the Trade Licensing Unit and by Local Councils in terms of the Trade Licensing Act.
The board is competent to hear complaints by all those who claim to have been unjustly denied a trading licence or by other decisions and/or any other related issues with carrying out of any commercial activity.
Board Members
Dr David Camilleri                 Chairman
Mr Emanuel  Zahra                Member
Mr Malcolm Abdilla               Member
Ms Claire Decelis                   Secretary
Contact Details
Telephone Number: 22209530